Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Local elections coming May 4

Check out which candidates will be on the ballot


Voters may have their attention set on the March primary elections and then the November general elections, but there’s one more occasion when they can voice their opinions at the polls.

May 4 is local Election Day. Eligible Azle, Springtown and Reno-area folks can come out to the ballot box on that day, or during early voting April 22-30, to select their representatives on city councils and school boards. The voter registration deadline for these elections is April 4.

Candidates had the chance to file for a place on the ballot from Jan. 17 to Feb. 16. Here’s who is expected to be on the May ballot:


Azle City Council Places 1, 2 and 5, which are currently held by members Derrick Nelson, Amy Estes and Rouel Rothenberger Jr. respectively. Only Place 2 is contested with incumbent Amy Estes facing off against law enforcement officer Jake Falcon in the May election.


In Reno, the city council members in Places 1, 3 and 5 are up for re-election, but only two places are contested. In Place 1,  Reno Planning and Zoning Commission Chair Kevin Vandenberg is running unopposed in the May election after incumbent council member Hernando Herrera dropped out of the race. Another P&Z member, secretary Justin Williams, filed for Place 5 and will run against incumbent council member Joy Jenkins, who was appointed to her position last year to fill the unexpired term left by former council member Jeff Davis.

Mayor Pro Tem Shelli Swift is running for Place 3 unopposed.


Three Springtown City Council members are up for re-election, and two will face opponents in May. David Martin is challenging Mayor Pro Tem Walter Roberson for Place 3, and Springtown Planning and Zoning Commission member Jessica Castro will run against incumbent council member Scott Richardson. Place 1 is uncontested with only incumbent council member Ted Martinez filing.


Two seats on Azle Independent School District board of trustees are up for election this year. Ray Lea, who currently serves in Place 4, will retire at the end of his term. Former educator and stay-at-home mom Kelsey Massey and Merge Church pastor Brandon Geary are vying for the seat. Tim Brown, vice president, who serves in Place 3, is uncontested in his bid for re-election.


Springtown Independent School District board of trustees will have one contested race on the May ballot. Longtime board member Elizabeth "Tootie" Hall will face challenger Cody Bryant in the Place 7 election. Meanwhile, board member Mark Bryant is running for re-election to Place 6 unopposed.


Walnut Creek Special Utility District board of directors is expected to have two new members as a result of the election in May. Incumbents Vice President Al Garrett and director Frank Henderson, who was appointed to fill an unexpired term, are not running for re-election.

The four candidates who filed to be on the ballot are Robin L. Corder, Bill Roesicke, Mark Green and David DeSoto. Two of them will be chosen to fill the open spots on the board.